LSBC Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are LSBC alumni and/or supporters who contribute their time, energy, and efforts to maintaining the quality of Leadership Santa Barbara County. 

Victor Garza, PresidenT


Victor Garza is a 2004 graduate of Leadership Santa Barbara County. He graduated from UC Santa Barbara with a degree in Spanish.  Initially planning to be a teacher after graduating, Victor entered the world of Engineering and Public Works in 1977.  He has worked in various capacities with several public agencies before moving back to the area in 1989.  Victor currently works for the City of Santa Barbara managing the Operations and Maintenance of the Downtown Parking Program, with an emphasis on excellent customer service.  Victor joined the Leadership Board in 2009 in order to be a part of a program that offers people a way to become more connected and engaged and aware of the issues that face our community.

When not working his day job, Victor enjoys spending time with family and friends, running, biking, playing music and providing sound systems and audio engineering for special events.  Victor is excited to be on the LSBC Board and believes that the Leadership experience begins after graduation, when all of the learned skills and experiences can be brought into play to help make a difference at home, on the job and in the community.

JASON TOON, Vice President


Jason moved from Dallas, Texas to Santa Barbara in January 2009.  Prior to that, he received his Bachelor of Science in Political Science - Public Law & Legal Systems with a minor in Business Law from Oklahoma State University and then his Juris Doctorate from the University of Tulsa College of Law.  He has been very active in the legal community and has been practicing and teaching law since 1997.  Over the years, Jason has also spent a considerable amount of time and effort serving on multiple alumni, law related and governance boards at the city, county and state levels in both Oklahoma and Texas.  Yearning to further develop his leadership skills as well as learn more about the issues surrounding the Santa Barbara community, he entered the Leadership Santa Barbara County program and graduated in 2011.  He immediately joined the Board of Directors in hopes of further developing the skills he learned in the program while using them along with his prior experience to assist LSBC in achieving its ambitious goals.

When Jason is not working, he spends his time racing cars, instructing future race car drivers, bicycling, listening to music, and smoking fine cigars with his friends.


Lori La Riva, Treasurer 

Lori is a 2010 graduate of Leadership Santa Barbara County. Immediately following her class year she volunteered as an Alumni Advisor for two years and then joined the Board of Directors as the Recruitment Chair. She is now taking on the role of Treasurer. As a graduate of UCSB's Environmental Studies program, Lori has long had a passion for improving the environment and public health and wellness. She currently promotes sustainable transportation through her work at Traffic Solutions at SBCAG.

Valerie Ellis

Valerie Ellis, Secretary

Valerie Ellis is a consultant to small businesses, non-profits organizations, and corporations, assisting them to achieve excellence in individual and organizational performance.  Ms. Ellis is a trained facilitator, executive coach, nationally-certified trainer in Board development, and holds a Work-Life Certificate from Boston University.  She has spoken across the country on microenterprise and leadership.  Ms. Ellis is an adjunct professor at Santa Barbara City College, teaching business classes with an entrepreneurial focus. For fun, she leads wine tours in the Santa Ynez Valley.

Jason Dominguez


Jason Dominguez is the founder of Justice Center, a non-profit legal aid program. As a city attorney, he built a successful community-based crime task force. He has worked as a county counsel for Santa Barbara and fought to reduce traffic collisions and injuries. Later, he went on to serve as a Legal Officer to the United Nations, prosecuting genocide at the International Criminal Tribunal in the Hague, Netherlands.

Dominguez's parents, a public elementary school teacher and army veteran, taught him and his brother strong family values and the importance of giving back to the community. He was educated K-12 at public schools and graduated from Stanford University and UC Berkeley, with a focus on environmental law. Dominguez is an experienced educator, having taught public high school and university students, and firmly believes that school-based and extra-curricular programs can help our youth to avoid crime and lead to family-sustaining jobs.

Jason is a strong believer in community service and has been involved with community-based organizations, like Worth Street Reach and canine rescue groups. He serves on the Board of Directors for Leadership Santa Barbara and, previously, the Stanford University Chicano Latino Alumni Association. He has worked for several local non-profits. He serves on the American Bar Association's Committee for Pro Bono Service.


Kelly Schmandt Ferguson


Kelly Schmandt Ferguson is a 2013 graduate of Leadership Santa Barbara County. She received her Bachelor of Science from Vanderbilt University in Environmental Policy, a Master's in Environmental Science and Management from University of California at Santa Barbara's Bren School, and a Graduate Program in Management Practice Certification from the UCSB’s Technology Management Program.

Kelly is the Environmental Director for the Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians, where she leads a team that develops and implements environmental programs for the tribal government and community. She is also a Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) representative for Southern California tribes. RTOC is a collaboration with the Environmental Protection Agency that addresses environmental issues in Indian Country. 

Previously, Kelly played tennis professionally on the International Tennis Federation tour. Kelly was born and raised in Santa Barbara and attended San Marcos High School. When not working, Kelly likes to teach yoga, play tennis, and spend time with her family. Kelly is thrilled to be on the LSBC Board and looks forward to giving back to an organization that positively impacts the area by building community and leaders.